If We Were Sitting in a Coffee Shop…

If we were sitting in a coffee shop, sipping coffee together… I would tell you what has been on my mind lately. Besides all of the Be the Best You events coming up, such as the BTBY Friends for Healthy Living weight loss support group meeting tonight and the Be the Best You: The Party on Facebook on Wednesday night, what has been on my mind recently is thankfulness. With Thanksgiving just ten days away, many of us have been thinking about what we’re thankful for this month. November is famous for the “30 Days of Thankfulness.”

So if we were sipping coffee together, I would tell you what I am thankful for. I’m thankful for all of you who read my blog. You are the main reason I write it. I am also thankful for my family. Where would I be without them? They have helped shape me into the person I am today. They continually provide support and encouragement, always standing by me. Same could be said for my friends, both in person and online. I wouldn’t have gotten as far as I have if I didn’t have all of these people on my side. I am also very thankful for my cat who helps give me love and comfort when I’m not feeling my best. Not to mention all of the obvious things: a roof over my head, food to eat, clean water to drink, clothes and proper shoes to wear, and phone and internet service. All of these things keep me safe and comfortable, or allow me to do things I need to do.

If we were sipping coffee together, I would start a lively discussion about why being thankful ties into weight loss. Reflecting on all the good and positive aspects of my days has been vital for my mind shift to a more positive person. That positivity helps me when things are tough in my journey. It gives me a reason to continue moving forward. Seeing the positive aspects of my life has also made me realize that there is always a bright side to the negatives as well. I know that when things are hard or I’m feeling really horrible, there is a reason behind it, even if that reason is just that it is helping strengthen and shape me into the person I’m meant to be. Growing mentally and having a positive mindset provides a great basis for my weight loss and persistence to keep it off. A large part of this is simply being thankful for all of my tools, lessons, opportunities, achievements, and every other part of my transformation.

If we were sipping coffee together, I would ask you… What are you thankful for?

~Bonnie~

6 thoughts on “If We Were Sitting in a Coffee Shop…

  1. What a great blog. I would talk to you about how you manage to do everything. I would tell you how grateful I am just to be alive, when there is so much sadness and evil in the world, the patches of light and love that I am surrounded with make the world bearable. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yes to be alive, that’s a wonderful thing to be thankful for. It is so easy to be consumed by the evil and pain but you are so right that there are patches of light and love all over the place! We only have to look.

      Like

  2. I am thankful for my God. Even though I disappointment him daily, I know he still loves me. I am thankful that all my basic needs are met and oh so thankful for my family (especially that I’ve lived long enough to see my 4 grandchildren) and my friends here and online. I am thankful for loving and caring people in a world of terrorism and evil. I am thankful for all things, good and bad, because they all make me the person I believe God meant for me to be! I’m thankful that I’m also a work in progress at 58 years of age too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Beautiful things to be thankful for Beth! You are making progress each day, for yourself and for God and that is what is so important. I remind myself of that every day. We aren’t meant to be perfect, we’re only meant to do our best.

      Like

  3. I am thankful for all the wonderful things that have been happening this year for my friends and myself. Two of my friends got engaged with one of the weddings next month. I finally got a full time job and am in a very healthy loving relationship. My boyfriend got an awesome new job. My family is healthy. So much good going around I smile so much more than I used too! Great blog post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

