Be Silly and Act Like a Kid!

Now you may be wondering, what does being silly and acting like a kid have to do with working out? Well, I will explain why it is tied together.

be silly and act like a kid

A wonderful and exciting way to get that exercise in, whether dreaded or not, is to be silly and act like a kid again. Dance in the house with or without your kids, run around chasing your kids or a pet, play sports just for fun, race yourself back and forth if you don’t have anyone to do it with. Anything that is fun and silly, while being active, will give you this most amazing jolt of exhilaration!

Another fun idea would be to go to a playground and play on the equipment. Don’t be afraid to do so, most of it is sturdy and while people may “stare,” it is too fun for you to worry about what others think. Swinging on the swings, going down the slides, climbing up the ladders, hanging from the monkey bars, and many others. I know from personal experience that it is super fun, with or without kids. Sure, now that you’re an adult and your legs are longer the slides aren’t going to be as fast, especially the ones shaped like a spiral, but it’s still a ton of fun! I love going down the slides and swinging on the swings. It makes me feel like a kid again, to remember how carefree a time that was.

I also love chasing my nephews around the grassy area near our community playground, acting like a monster or other being or even nothing at all. We also would hold races to certain landmarks. Letting my nephews chase me was super fun too, especially since the oldest (4-year-old) is pretty fast and I didn’t have to slow down too much to let him catch me after a certain distance. I miss that feeling and look forward to chasing them and having them chase me when I can run again. The swings have been especially fun lately too. I feel like I’m flying and whipping through the air is so much fun!
playground
So go… welcome that lovely carefree feeling into your heart, and act like a kid again! Be silly, laugh and exclaim while you “exercise.” Your heart rate will climb, your muscles will feel alive, and your mind will thank you for the experience, believe me! It is such an enjoyable form of exercise. You may be sore afterwards, but you likely won’t regret it. I don’t do it often enough, but when I do, it lifts my mood and makes me feel lighter!
~Bonnie~
One thought on “Be Silly and Act Like a Kid!

  1. love this, we grow up too fast and forget to enjoy life and outdoor activity! It’s weird how people think that “playing” outside is just for kids now.
    No playing outside is being healthy and enjoying life!!
    Great blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

