Thriving Thursday- the Importance of Water

  
Let me start by saying, I used to be one of those people who absolutely hated water! The only times I would drink it was if I was thirsty and it was the only choice, or if it was super cold. Now in the past year, since I started focusing on my health, I have learned to love water.

It’s recommended that we drink 8-10 eight ounce cups a day to regain what we lose by normal body functions, we’ve all heard the eight cups a day ideal. Other people say to drink half your body weight in ounces. That would mean a 150 pound person should drink 75 ounces each day. I say… drink however much works for you and keeps you adequately hydrated. Remember you lose additional water when you sweat so you need to pay attention when you’re exercising and/or on hot or humid days and increase your water intake as needed.

Personally, I’m all for using water flavoring packets or other methods of flavoring your water at first. It helps you get used to the sheer volume of water when you’re not used to drinking that much. Then you can slowly decrease the frequency of using the flavoring, or start infusing your water with fresh fruit and veggies to give it natural flavor. Lemon juice is also a great choice if you like it. I prefer my water to be plain most of the time now but occasionally like flavoring when I want a “treat” to drink.

Drinking water has changed my life in more ways than one. First of all, I rarely feel insanely thirsty anymore because I steadily drink throughout the day and I also feel like my body functions a lot better since I’m hydrated. Another benefit I’ve found is that it’s a great filler when I’m craving something and it’s not time to eat yet. I say to myself, “drink the rest of this bottle before you eat that.” That really helps me day to day.

I have found that I actually crave the water itself. The more I drink it, the more I want of it. The funny part is I started at maybe six cups a day and it was a true struggle, but I learned to drink it whenever I was more thirsty and down as much as I could then, as well as starting as soon as I woke up each day. Now I drink at least 12 cups a day, sometimes as much as 14-16 cups a day. It really amazes me how far I’ve come to love water this much. You can learn to love it too, just remember it takes time and practice.
~Bonnie~

3 thoughts on “Thriving Thursday- the Importance of Water

  1. I started by adding flavoring as well it just helps you get going! Now I’m up to getting about 21-25 cups a day typically and if I don’t get that amount I feel dehydrated. If you would have told me that I would be like that back when I was just trying to get 8 I would have thought you were crazy! LOL It started getting higher when I would do Zumba and be sweating a lot and I’d end up drinking at least 4 if not 4-6 cups to keep hydrated and then my body just got used to getting more and wanted to keep it up. I think when first starting the ounces per body weight is too much for people but now I surpass even that or feel dehydrated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

